Ruthless Zeel Desai powers into tennis quarter-finals at Khelo India Youth Games

Zeel Desai of Gujarat in action at Khelo India Youth Games

Third seed Zeel Desai of Gujarat has made a brisk start to her campaign on the first day of the tennis competition at the Khelo India Youth Games here on Monday.

Zeel, winner of two gold medals at the Youth Commonwalth Games in the Bahamas in 2017, got the better of Pratibha Naryanprasad of Karnataka 6-0, 6-0 to storm into the girls Under-21 quarter-finals.

In the boy's Under-21 section, second seed Faisal Qamar of Rajasthan launched his campaign on a winning note, moving into the quarters with a 6-4, 7-6 (8-6) win over Megh Patel of Gujarat.

Third seed S. Manish of Tamil Nadu outplayed wild card Gokulantham of Pondicherry 6-1, 6-0 in less than 30 minutes.

The 19-year-old, who played the ATP Challenger at Jinan in China recently said, "Khelo India is a big platform. The scholarship that comes with winning at the KIYG will help financially as tennis is expensive sport."

Asked about the opposition in his section of the event, Manish said, "Tennis teaches us respect for every individual, I know all the players in my category. We all are good friends off the court but when we step on the court we put that aside. I guess that’s the beauty of this sport."

Fourth seed Paramveer Bajwa of Chandigarh who trains at the Solaris Club here in Pune was dominant, moving into the next round with 6-2, 6-1 win over Rhythm Malhotra of Delhi. Bajwa said later, "Although I'm representing Chandigarh here, I love Pune. It's like a second home. I've played here at Balewadi and won a few tournaments. Hope it turns out to be lucky this time too."

Faisal Qamar of Rajasthan in action at Khelo India Youth Games

The match of the day was between Sanya Singh of Haryana and Vanishka Chaudhari of Uttar Pradesh in the girls U-17 competition which lasted for almost three hours before Vanishka won 6-2, 4-6, 7-6 (6-3).


Boys Singles U-21:

Ishaque Eqbal (WB) Bye

Faisal Qamar bt Megh Patel(GU)6-4,7-6

S Manish (TN) bt Gokulantham (PUD) 6-1,6-0

Dhruv Sunish (MAH) bt Abhishek Rudreshwar(PUD) 6-1,6-0

Paramveer Bajwa(CHD) bt Rhythm Malhotra(DL) 6-2,6-1

Abhinav Sanjeev(TN) bt Kamath Madhwin(GUJ) 6-2,6-3

Sai Kartheek Ganta (TEL) bt Calvin Golmai (CH) 6-3,6-3

Nitin Sinha (WB) bt Atharva Sharma (MAH) 5-7,6-4,6-1

Girls Singles U-21:

Mahak Sain(MP) bye

Humera Shaik(TS) bye

Zeel Desai(GJ) bt Pratibha Narayanprasad(KAR) 6-0,6-0

Y.Sai Dedeepya(TS) bt Balasubra Kaavya (TN) 6-1,6-3

Vaidehi Chaudhari(GJ) bt S.E. arthiya(PUD) 6-0,6-0

Boys Singles U-17:

Sushant Dabas(HR) wo Dhananjay Singh(HP)

Dev Javia(GUJ) bt Divesh Gahlot(HR) 7-5,6-2

Ajay Malik(HR) bt 6-2,6-4 Ananth Muni(AP)

Krish Patel(GUJ) bt Karim Khan(MH) 5-7,6-1,6-1

Aryaan Bhatia(MH) bt Mohit Bondre(GUJ) 6-2,0-6,6-4

Kishan Hooda(CHD) bt Nongrum Wankharaw(MG) 6-0,6-1

Anish Rampola(TN) bt Amaan Tezabwala(MH) 3-6,6-3,6-4

Gurustat Makkar(CHD) bt J.h. Lalhruaizela(MZ)6-3,6-1

Girls Singles U-17:

Gagri Pawar(MH) Bye

Vanish Choudhari(UP) bt Sanya Singh(HR) 6-2,4-6,7-6(6-3)

Priyanshi Bhandari(GUJ) bt Paavnii Pathak(TS) 2-6,7-6,6-3

Anjali Rathi(HR) bt Kanika Sivaraman(TN) 1-6,6-2,6-3

Sirimalla sanjana(TS) bt S.Akshaya Rivire(PUD) 6-0,6-1

Prerna Vichare(MH) bt Ishita Singh(HR) 6-3,6-2